Newtown Woman's Club, GFWC, Inc.
 PO Box 101, Newtown, CT 06470
HomeAbout UsCalendarGFWCPhoto Gallery

Friendship ~ Pride ~ Service
Add this page to your favorites.


On March 25, 1968, 10 women met with the GFWC/CT president and president elect and voted unanimously to form a federated club. Of the founding members, Coke Cramer is still a member. Lorraine VanderWende served as the clubs first president from 1968 to 1970. Membership still includes two charter members – Flo Caron and Jean Swanhall. By September 1968, the club grew to 75 members.

The club seal designed by Maggie McMaster and Lorraine VanderWende, symbolizes Newtown or “civic affairs”; the clasped hands, “friendship”; the book, “intellectual aspects”; and the crossed brushes, “culture.” For almost 25 years the club has created Pewter Ornaments highlighting historical buildings throughout the town as a major fundraiser.

Conservation has planted dozens of trees and almost 5,000 daffodil bulbs at the Holcombe Wildlife Preserve and other Newtown locations. Club projects include the support of Newtown Volunteer Ambulance Corps, Insurance Programs for the Fire Departments Widows and Children’s Benefit Fund, Hospice, Meals on Wheels, CH Booth Library, Newtown High School scholarship. Many awards and accolades have been presented to the club for their participation in GFWC and GFWC/CT projects.

In celebration of the clubs 40th anniversary in 2008, the club “adopted” the kitchen in the Edmond Town Hall Alexandria Room as their Community Improvement Project. Raising more than $7,000 through a “Stay-At-Home-Tea,” the club helped with kitchen renovations.

Contact Us
Club History
Areas of Interest 

Community Service Projects in the Arts ~ Conservation ~ Education ~ Home Life ~ International 
Outreach ~ Public Issues ~ Advocates for Children ~ Domestic Violence Awareness and Education ~ Scholarships ~ Support of Local Agencies and Food Pantry’s ~ Veterans

  • Ellen Demorest
  • Julia Lathrop
  • Eleanor Roosevelt
  • Ellen S. Woodward
  • CT Governor Ella Grasso

  • Julia Ward Howe
  • Jane Addams
  • Nellie Taylor Ross
  • Bertha Ethel Knight Landes
  • Margaret Chase Smith
Notable GFWC Clubwomen
50 years!
2023 - 2024 OFFICERS

President:                                                                     Millie Anderson
First Vice President:                                                   Janet Stockalis 
Co- Second Vice Presidents:                                     Marie Sturdevant
                                                                                        Rosemary Rau
Recording Secretary:                                                  Pat Lowell 
Corresponding Secretary:                                         Jan Happel 
Treasurer:                                                                     Peg Forbell 
Assistant Treasurer:                                                   Sylvia Poulin
Historian:                                                                     Janet Stockalis